Ronnie Kasrils and Nick Mulgrew Nominated for SALA Awards

28 Sep 2018

Congratulations to PEN SA member Ronnie Kasrils and PEN SA Head of Communications Nick Mulgrew for their nominations for the 2018 South African Literary Awards.

Celebrating 13th anniversary of their existence, the South African Literary Awards (SALA) have shortlisted twenty three (23) authors from a total of just under two hundred (200) submissions received for 2018. The winners will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony on the 6th November at UNISA.

Kasrils is nominated alongside Hermann Giliomee for the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Mulgrew is shortlisted for the Nadine Gordimer Award for his book The First Law of Sadness.

Other awards to be announced at the SALA Awards are the position of the new Poet Laureate and the Posthumous Literary Award.

The full list of nominees may be found on the SALA website.