Playwrights: Enter The 2018 Distell National Playwright Competition

24 Oct 2018
Playwrights: Enter The 2018 Distell National Playwright Competition

Deadline: 5 p.m., 30 November 2018

South African playwrights are encouraged to submit their unpublished and unproduced plays for consideration in the 2018 Distell National Playwright Competition.

Previously unpublished and unproduced South African plays that celebrate and enhance inclusivity and social cohesion will be eligible for consideration. An integral part of the vision for this award is to provide support in the space that exists between the idea for a play and the final draft of that play for production. In this way, the competition is intended as a resource for both new writers and producing theatres interested in developing and programming contemporary South African work.

Submissions will be adjudicated by a panel of experts. Five plays will be selected for a process of development, including workshops, masterclasses and/or mentorships. At the end of this process, the winning play will be announced and awarded a production budget with the aim of presenting it as a premiere on the Main programme or Arena of the National Arts Festival.

Submissions guidelines and rules of entry may be found on the National Arts Festival website.