Farewell to Three PEN SA Board Members

27 Feb 2019
Farewell to Three PEN SA Board Members

PEN SA bids farewell to three esteemed board members who’ve made an invaluable contribution to the organisation.

Gabeba Baderoon, Adré Marshall and Karina Magdalena Szczurek have all dedicated time, energy and passion to an array of PEN SA projects.

PEN SA President Nadia Davids expressed appreciation for their “varied and wonderful contributions”:

“We are a richer organisation for Adre’s long service and her thoughtful, nuanced understanding of the challenges and possibilities of literatures in translations, for Gabeba’s brilliant and complex understanding of Freedom of Speech in South Africa today, and for Karina’s service as treasurer during a period of immense transition for PEN SA,” she said. “All three will be missed but their contributions will endure.”

Baderoon said  “Pen SA is an organization for thinking and acting on literature in the world, and all its intricacies.  This needs deliberation, courage, generosity and hard work, which I have found in abundance on the board of Pen SA –  ” it’s been an honour and a pleasure to serve on the board and I leave with sadness . I wish Pen SA all good things.”

Adré Marshall, who has served for 10 years, is one of   PEN SA’s longest standing members.

“I felt it was appropriate… to step down so that a new member could be recruited,” says Marshall. “My time on the Board was stimulating and challenging in various ways. There were many highlights, one of which was the 2015 AGM of the PEN International Translation and Linguistic Rights Committee hosted in Barcelona, … I am particularly  proud of the role PEN SA has played in defending the  right to Freedom of Expression and  upholding writers’ entitlement to engage in free expression work without the threat of persecution or imprisonment.”

The appointment of new PEN SA board members will be announced in due course.