African Road (2006)

09 Apr 2006
African Road

The 2006 award attracted 231 entries from Angola, Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, and selected stories were published in African Road – New writing from southern Africa 2006 in April.

We publish ‘Travels to the Magical Kingdom’, Sean O’Toole’s introduction to his first-prize winning story, ‘The road to Rephile’, followed by the story itself. We also publish the second-prize winning story by Elizabeth Pienaar, ‘Breaking down the house’.

African Road authors:
Lauren Beukes, Renée Bonorchis, Sukoluhle Joy Chilongo, Helen Collett, Malcolm Cumming, Ceridwen Dovey, Martha Evans, Justin Fox, Simone Haysom, Nirupa Hurley, Frank Kapesa, Renesh Lakhan, Timwa Lipenga, Kyne Nislev Bernstorff, Ruth Lindiwe Nkutha, Nadya Moksha Mahadeo, Kirsten Miller, Fiona Moolla, Pier Myburg, Lee Olivier, Sean O’Toole, Elizabeth Pienaar, Mooniq Shaikjee and Michael Williams.