2017 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship Shortlist Announced

23 Nov 2017
2017 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship Shortlist Announced

Congratulations to PEN SA members Fred Khumalo, Palesa Deejay Manaleng and Megan Ross who are among the 21 writers shortlisted for the 2017 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship.

Of the twenty-one names, six are from South Africa, four each from Nigeria and Kenya, two from Cameroon and one each from Eritrea, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Gambia and Botswana.

The Foundation noted that that it had received nearly 550 entries from over 30 countries this year, the highest number to date, and that they have once more “seen the energy, originality, and wit in our entries that characterises so much of modern African writing.”

The judges, with Ellah Wakatama Allfrey from Zimbabwe in the chair, assisted by Femi Terry from Sierra Leone, and Muthoni Garland from Kenya, will meet on Dec 4th to select the 2017 Scholars. Their names will be announced shortly afterwards. Writers awarded a fiction scholarship will each receive £18,000, paid over the course of a year to allow them to take time off to write the book they have proposed. Non-fiction writers may be given £27,000 over the course of eighteen months, if they need to do additional research.

View the full 2017 shortlist on the Miles Morland Foundation website

(Image courtesy of the Miles Morland Foundation)