2017 9mobile Prize for Literature Longlist Announced

12 Dec 2017
2017 9mobile Prize for Literature Longlist Announced

The longlist for the 2017 9mobile Prize for Literature (formerly the Etisalat Prize for Literature) has been announced.

Congratulations to PEN SA members David Cornwell, Bronwyn Law-Viljoen and Marcus Low who have been longlisted.

The 9mobile Prize for Literature is a Pan African prize that celebrates debut African writers of published fiction. The winner takes home £15,000 (about R275,000) and a fellowship at the University of East Anglia to study creative writing.

The entries range through a variety of themes and preoccupations that mirror the expanse and diversity of the continent. The care and craft that the authors bring to the exploration of their chosen themes show a level of skill and artistry not often found in first works of fiction. These works give us a glimpse of the exciting literary landscapes ahead for African fiction. Chair of Judges, Harry Garuba

See the full longlist on the Johannesburg Review of Books website

(Image courtesy of 9Mobile Prize for Literature)