Trade Secrets Edited by Joanne Hichens

14 Aug 2017
Trade Secrets Edited by Joanne Hichens

Trade Secrets, the fifth of the annual Short.Sharp.Stories Awards anthologies, features writing by PEN SA members Amy Heydenrych, Sally Partridge, Darrel Bristow-Bovey, Andrew Salomon, Stephen Symons and Kerry Hammerton. The foreword was written by PEN SA Board Member Yewande Omotoso and PEN SA member Liesl Jobson judged this year’s competition.

We bring you Trade Secrets, tales with a twist. Whether secrets of State, the workplace or of the family, Trade Secrets delivers a range of stories guaranteed to titillate, delight and surprise. As ever, we bring you memorable characters and settings which reflect our South African diversity. Trade Secrets is the fifth of the annual Short.Sharp.Stories Awards anthologies, produced with the support of the National Arts Festival of South Africa. The 2017 judges were Liesl Jobson, Phakama Mbonambi and Tim Richman.

The Contributors
Mishka Hoosen, Amy Heydenrych, Ntsika Gogwana, Sally Partridge, Olufemi Agunbiade, Darrel Bristow-Bovey, Megan Ross, Philip Vermaas, Linda Daniels, Pravasan Pillay, Andrew Salomon, Frieda-Marie De Jager, Bobby Jordan, Kamil Naicker, Mapule Mohulatsi, Jumani Clarke, Michael Yee, Stephen Symons, Sally Ann Murray, Kerry Hammerton, Sean Mayne.

The Editor
Joanne Hichens is an author, editor and curator. She has written three crime fiction novels — Out to Score (co-authored), Divine Justice and Sweet Paradise. Her Young Adult novels are Stained (2010) and Riding the Wave (2017), both shortlisted for the Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature. She has edited seven collections of short stories: Bad Company (2008), The Bed Book of Short Stories (2010), and as curator of the Short.Sharp.Stories Awards —Bloody Satisfied (2013), Adults Only (2014), Incredible Journey (2015), Die Laughing (2016) and Trade Secrets (2017). She lives and works in Muizenberg.

Date of Publication:
July 2017
ISBN: 9780994680532
Website: Short Sharp Stories
Publisher: Tattoo Press