ZP Dala Shortlisted for Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature

13 Jul 2018

Congratulations to PEN SA member ZP Dala, whose novel The Architecture of Loss has been shortlisted for the 2018 Clara Johnson Award for Women’s Literature, administered by the Jane’s Stories Press Foundation. The winner of the Award will be awarded $1000 and will receive the award at a reception.

The winning work must, like its namesake, challenge social constructs; contain groundbreaking subject matter, content, structure, and/or audiences; and exhibit excellence in language and style. The award is open to prose and poetry and all genres, including, but not limited to, fiction and nonfiction, creative nonfiction or memoir.

The full shortlist is: Connie May Fowler for A Million Fragile Bones; Camille Dungy for Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys into Race, Motherhood, and History; Terese Mailhot for Heart Berries; Z.P. Dala for The Architecture of Loss; and Jill McCabe Johnson for Revolutions We’d Hoped We’d Outgrown.

The prize winner will be announced in August.