Three PEN SA Members Shortlisted for the 2016 Sunday Times Literary Awards

16 May 2016
Three PEN SA Members Shortlisted for the 2016 Sunday Times Literary Awards

The shortlists for the 2016 Sunday Times Literary Awards were announced at the Franschhoek Literary Festival on Saturday 14 May 2016. Congratulations to PEN SA members Claire Robertson, Henrietta Rose-Innes and David Attwell, who have been shortlisted!

Claire Robertson and Henrietta Rose-Innes have been shortlisted for the Barry Ronge Fiction Prize for The Magistrate of Gower and Green Lion respectively. David Attwell has been shortlisted for the Alan Paton Award for JM Coetzee and the Life of Writing.

See the longlists here and the full shortlists below:

Press release:

The 2016 Sunday Times Literary Awards shortlist has been announced

Cape Town, Saturday 14 May 2016: The 2016 shortlist finalists for South Africa’s most prestigious literary recognition – the Sunday Times Literary Awards – were announced on Saturday 14 May at the Franschhoek Literary Festival. The shortlist announcement has become a much anticipated calendar event for the country’s literary community, with ten South African writers being acknowledged for their work in both fiction and non-fiction categories, and competing for the Barry Ronge Prize and Alan Paton Award respectively.

Jennifer Platt, the Sunday Times Books Editor, says the 2016 shortlist finalists represent “books of quality, that take the temperature and pulse of the nation”.

The Barry Ronge Fiction Prize awards outstanding contributions in fiction.

The judging panel was chaired by Rustum Kozain, a former recipient of the Olive Schreiner Prize, the Ingrid Jonker Prize and the Herman Charles Bosman Award for literature. Kozain notes that the writers are “in control of the mechanics of storytelling and so the storytellers that emerge, and the stories they tell, compel us. And they compel us – seducing us without revealing the seduction – into fictional worlds that are credible because of the quality of the storytelling.” The fiction judging panel includes Angela Makholwa-Moabelo and Stephen Johnson.

The 2016 Barry Ronge Fiction Prize shortlist finalists in the Sunday Times Literary Awards are:

  • Boy on the Wire by Alastair Bruce – Umuzi
  • The Dream House by Craig Higginson – Picador Africa
  • The Magistrate of Gower by Claire Robertson – Umuzi
  • Green Lion by Henrietta Rose-Innes – Umuzi
  • Hunger Eats a Man by Nkosinathi Sithole – Penguin

The Alan Paton non-fiction judging panel is chaired by playwright, poet, novelist and political activist Achmat Dangor.

“Each of the writers has approached their chosen subject matter with candour and honesty, and do not hesitate to challenge many popular notions that have become ‘accepted truths’ in our daily public discourse,” says Dangor. The judging panel includes Tinyiko Maluleke and Pippa Green.

The 2016 Alan Paton Award shortlist finalists in the Sunday Times Literary Awards are:

  • JM Coetzee and the Life of Writing – David Attwell – Jacana Media
  • Papwa – Golf’s Lost Legend by Maxine Case – Kwela Books
  • To Quote Myself – A Memoir by Khaya Dlanga – Macmillan
  • Rape – A South African Nightmare by Pumla Dineo Gqola – MF Books/Jacana Media
  • Showdown at the Red Lion – Charles van Onselen – Jonathan Ball Publishers

The winners of the Sunday Times Literary Awards will be announced in Sandton on 25 June 2016.