Soweto, Under the Apricot Tree by Niq Mhlongo

13 Feb 2018
Soweto, Under the Apricot Tree by Niq Mhlongo
If the apricot trees of Soweto could talk, what stories would they tell? This short story collection provides an imaginative answer as it captures the vibrancy of the township and surrounds. Told with satirical flair, life and death intertwine in these tales where funerals and the ancestors feature strongly; where cemeteries are places to show off a new car and catch up on gossip.
Take a seat under the apricot tree and be enthralled by tales both entertaining and thought-provoking.

About the author:

Niq Mhlongo was born in 1973 in Soweto. He has a BA from the University of the Witwatersrand, with majors in African Literature and Political Studies. He is the author of three novels, Dog Eat Dog (2004), After Tears (2007) and Way Back Home(2013), and a collection of short stories, Affluenza (2016).

Date of Publication: Early 2018