Masande Ntshanga Shortlisted for the Society of Authors 2018 Betty Trask Prize

05 Jul 2018
Masande Ntshanga

Congratulations to PEN SA member Masande Ntshanga, whose debut novel The Reactive has been shortlisted for the Society of Authors’ 2018 Betty Trask Prize, one of their four Authors’ Awards.

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are presented for a first novel by a writer under 35.

The four prizes will be awarded at The Authors’ Awards on Thursday 19 July, a unique night of riches with all the awards judged by authors for authors. The event has rewarded the early works of some of today’s most prominent literary figures such as Zadie Smith, Seamus Heaney, Helen Dunmore, Hari Kunzru, Carol Ann Duffy and Mark Haddon and the evening will see the UK’s biggest literary fund of more than £98,000 awarded to established and emerging writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

The full shortlists of all the Authors’ Awards may be found on the Society of Authors website.