Commonwealth Writers Now Eligible for PEN Pinter Prize

15 Mar 2016
Commonwealth Writers Now Eligible for PEN Pinter Prize

Our colleagues at English PEN have announced that the PEN Pinter prize, which was previously only open to writers from Britain, has been extended to include writers from the Commonwealth and the Republic of Ireland. They have also announced that the judges for 2016 will be Vicky Featherstone, Zia Haider Rahman and Sir Peter Stothard.

The PEN Pinter Prize was established in 2009 by English PEN, founding centre of the worldwide writers’ association and freedom of expression charity, in memory of Nobel Laureate playwright and poet Harold Pinter. The prize is awarded annually to a writer of outstanding literary merit, who, in the words of Harold Pinter’s Nobel Prize in Literature speech, casts an ‘unflinching, unswerving’ gaze upon the world and shows a ‘fierce intellectual determination … to define the real truth of our lives and our societies’. The PEN Pinter winner is required to be available to give a lecture or similar public performance on receipt of the prize, the ceremony for which will take place on 13 October 2016 at the British Library.

Each year the PEN Pinter winner chooses an International Writer of Courage to share the prize, selected from a shortlist of international cases supported by English PEN. The recipient will be an international writer who is active in defence of freedom of expression, often at great risk to their own safety.

Read more: English PEN

(Image courtesy of English PEN)