Call for Entries for the South African Literary Awards 2016

30 Mar 2016
Call for Entries for the South African Literary Awards 2016

Deadline: 30 May 2016

The South African Literary Awards are inviting submissions in the following nine categories: Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award, Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award, Posthumous Literary Award, Lifetime Achievement Literary Award, Literary Journalism Award, Literary Translators Award, Poetry Award, First-time Published Author Award and the Creative Non-Fiction Award.

The main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as groundbreaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages. The awards aim to become the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in South African literature.

Selections are made from published authors whose primary input is in imaginative writing – fiction as well as creative non-fiction. The work must demonstrate good linguistic presentation, the nation’s identity, the societal values, universal truths, and cultural aesthetics, contribution to social cohesion and nation building and transcendence of time. To date, SALA has honoured one hundred and forty seven (147) recipients since its inception in 2005.

Read the submission guidelines: South African Literary Awards

(Image courtesy of the South African Literary Awards)