Call for Entries for the African Fact-checking Awards

07 Aug 2017
Call for Entries for the African Fact-checking Awards

Deadline: 31 August 2017
Prizes: – $2,000 each for the winner of the best fact-checking report by a journalist
– $1,000 each for the two runners-up in Anglophone and Francophone media
– $500 each for winner of the best report by a student journalist in Anglophone and Francophone media

The African Fact-checking Awards, now in their fourth edition, are the only awards on the continent set up specifically to honour the best, non-partisan fact-checking journalism by working and student journalists on the continent.

In their first year, 2014, the awards were won by two journalists from Ghana, and the runners-up came from Kenya and Zambia. In 2015, the winner came from Nigeria and runner-up from South Africa. In 2016, we added a category for reports published in Francophone media. The awards were won by journalists from Cameroon and Cote d’Ivoire, with runners-up from Nigeria and Swaziland.

In 2017, we’ve added a student category. As fact-checking continues to become an essential skill for any mainstream journalist to acquire, we hope that journalism schools around the continent will want to enter their students for these important awards.

Submission guidelines: Africa Check

(Image courtesy Africa Check)