Athol Williams and Jim Pascual Agustin Shortlisted for the 2015 Sol Plaatje EU Poetry Award

06 Oct 2015
Jim Pascual Agustin and Athol Williams

The shortlist for the 2015 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award has been announced. The longlist included five PEN SA members and two have made it onto the shortlist: Jim Pascual Agustin and Athol Williams. All of the longlisted poems are included in this year’s anthology, The Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology: Vol. V.

The order in which the three shortlisted poems are placed, and the overall winner, will be announced at an event hosted by Poetry Africa at 6 PM on 17 October 2015 at Rivertown Beerhall in Durban. The anthology will be launched at 3 PM on the same day, at 8 Morrison Street, Durban.

Congratulations to Jim and Athol!

Press release from Jacana Media

From the longlist of poems selected by a jury of distinguished South African poets, senior judge Dr Mongane Wally Serote, winner of the prestigious Golden Wreath Award, has selected the three finalists for this year’s Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award.

Serote, a Black Consciousness icon and poet and writer, is a renowned member of the Soweto poets – a group which advocated for black literary voices in South Africa in the tumultuous 1970s. His poems of that time speak of the realities of apartheid, and have been invaluable in provoking thought about oppression, as well as capturing the truths of the era.

Similarly, the Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award aims to reveal the political and social attitudes of our time. The annual award, supported by the European Union, is now in its fifth year. Named after Solomon Tshekisho Plaatje (1876–1932), it recognises the life and vision of this highly respected political and social activist. As in previous years, Volume V of the series will anthologise the three shortlisted poems along with some 60 other poems on the longlist, which are written in an assortment of South African languages, including English, Afrikaans, Sepedi, Sesotho, Xitsonga and isiZulu.

In no particular order, the three shortlisted poems are: