Anton Krueger Longlisted for 2018 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award

21 Aug 2018
Anton Krueger Longlisted for 2018 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award

Congratulations to PEN SA member Anton Krueger, whose manuscript The University Currently Known As… has been longlisted for the 2018 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award.

Dinaane, the only award of its kind, aims to promote new southern African fiction that speaks to both a local and international audience. It encourages new writers and new readers by publishing material which would likely otherwise not have been selected – for purely commercial reasons – by local publishers of literature.

“In 2018 the Dinaane Debut Fiction Award,” said judge Professor David Medalie, “which is open to writers who have not yet published a novel, drew sixty-five submissions. Focusing for the most part on the history and present realities of life in Southern Africa, the manuscripts offer a wide range of imaginative responses, ranging from the fantastical to the grimly realistic, from the comic to the dystopian. The six manuscripts that have been selected for the longlist reflect something of this diversity of themes and modes of writing.”

In alphabetical order, the following manuscripts have been longlisted:

  • Go-Away Birds by Michelle Edwards
  • Legacy of a Rain Queen – The Eagle’s Martial by Tao Sophia
  • Not to Mention by Vivian de Klerk
  • Shiloh on my Mind by Taylor Fiona
  • The Mourning Bird by Kalimamukwento Mabanga
  • The University Currently Known As… by Anton Krueger

The shortlist of 3 manuscripts will be announced next month and the overall winner will be announced at an award ceremony later this year at the University of Johannesburg. A prize of R35 000 will be awarded. Previous winners have included PEN SA members Fred Khumalo, Tammy Baikie and Kopano Motlwa.