21 Resolutions Adopted at 82nd PEN International Congress

27 Oct 2016
21 Resolutions Adopted at 82nd PEN International Congress

The 82nd PEN International Congress was held in Galicia, Spain from 26 September to 2 October 2016. During the Congress, 21 Resolutions were proposed and adopted by the delegates. PEN SA President Margie Orford attended and wrote about the 82nd PEN International Congress.

PEN South Africa proposed a resolution on Egypt, which was seconded by PEN Uganda, calling on the Egyptian government to take action to create a climate of free expression in the country. The resolution was adopted and can be read here.

The other resolutions that were adopted are linked below:

The following people were elected at the Congress:

1. Kätlin Kaldmaa (Estonia PEN) was elected as the PEN International Secretary for a three-year term.

2. Thida (Myanmar PEN) was elected and Anders Heger (Norway PEN) and Mohamed Sheriff (Sierra Leone PEN) were re-elected to the PEN International Board, each for a three-year term. Gilwon Lee (Korea PEN) came to the end of his time on the Board of PEN International.

3. Marjan Strojan (Slovenia PEN) was elected Chair of the PEN International Writers for Peace Committee for a three-year term.

4. Takeaki Hori (Japan PEN) and Franca Tiberto were elected as Vice Presidents of PEN International.

PEN International also welcomed Togo PEN as a member Centre and declared the following Centres dormant: African Writers Abroad Centre, Afar Speaking Centre, Iraq Centre, Roma Centre, Somali Speaking Centre, Tunisia Centre and Writers in Exile London branch.