2017 South African Literary Awards Shortlist is Announced

17 Oct 2017
2017 South African Literary Awards Shortlist is Announced

Congratulations to PEN SA members Mohale Mashigo, Kopano Matlwa, Helen Moffett and Nick Mulgrew who are among the twenty eight authors shortlisted for the 2017 South African Literary Awards (SALA).

Mashigo’s The Yearning is shortlisted for the First-Time Publisher Award
Matlwa’s Period Pain is shortlisted for the K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
Moffett’s Prunings is shortlisted for the Poetry Award
Mulgrew’s Stations is shortlisted for the Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

The South African Literary Awards winners will be announced at the Africa Century Conference in Tshwane on 7 November 2017.

2017 marks the highest milestone of South African Literary Awards (SALA), as the shortlist includes, for the first time, the !Xam and !Kun languages. Listed under the Posthumous Literary Awards, five (5) legendary contributors are drawn from Wilhelm Bleek and Lucy Lloyd collection of !Xam and !Kun narratives, verses, songs, chants, drawings and other materials consisting of over 150 notebooks running in some 13 000 pages which is considered a unique cultural and literary collection which has been recognised by United Nations Education, Science and Cultural Council (UNESCO) and entered into the memory of the World Register.

View the full 2017 shortlist and find more information on SALA.

(Image courtesy of the South African Literary Awards)